January 16, 2017, 07:08:00 PM
News: If it is not in arbusers, it doesn't exist.

Mac address detected by iesnare or..

Pages: [1] 2 3
« previous next »
Author Topic: Mac address detected by iesnare or..  (Read 5875 times)
newbie77
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 9


View Profile
« on: July 20, 2015, 10:01:28 PM »

Howdy everyone,

i've been going through conflicting opinions about MAC address being detected by iesnare, mpsnare, or through active scripts? which one is it that can detect the MAC address?
And if so would there be a solution other than using a new pc?
Thanks.
Logged

yikkvu1l.wyx@20mail.it
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 01:39:26 PM »

you can change mac address

the other option is also to block iesnare cookie from within your hosts file so it never even phones home.
Logged

Alfa1234
Probably a Pro
****

Karma: -4
Posts: 321


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2015, 07:06:44 PM »

A website would detect the MAC adress of your modem or router, not the pc.  Using a new pc would not help.
Logged

newbie77
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2015, 01:44:47 PM »

Blocking iesnare is practically inviting your bookie to get suspicious and limit your account.
Usually the website would detect the MAC address of the router or modem, however i have read if the website is running scripts such as active X, it would be able to detect your MAC address that's why i'm looking for a knowledgeable opinion about this, i think changing it as yikkvu suggested is the best idea to stay on the safe side.
Logged

yikkvu1l.wyx@20mail.it
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2015, 10:37:32 AM »

the problem arises when you're using bookie A with username A and bookie B with username B, they can then see two different people logging into two different bookies on the same machine.

unless you have a comp for every person you have?

i don't think blocking cookies sets off any alarms since there's a number of reasons why a cookie couldn't get set - limiting just based on that is probably to harsh even for bookies.
Logged

arber_PL
Getting better
***

Karma: 2
Posts: 230


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2015, 11:13:20 AM »

the problem arises when you're using bookie A with username A and bookie B with username B, they can then see two different people logging into two different bookies on the same machine.

But you can have different usernames in bookies even for 1 ID. And then what? Bookies get suspicious?
Logged


Marlin
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2015, 07:14:09 PM »

The answers is this thread makes me wonder if people are just spreading baseless FUD.

The answer is no. Nobody can see your MAC address on the Internet. Only people on the same LAN as you can see your MAC address.

Iesnare uses flash cookies amongst other things to detect you, and blocking it with hosts file is definitely a red flag.
Logged

yikkvu1l.wyx@20mail.it
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2015, 09:12:20 AM »

the mac address can be read with certain plugins, like java applets. see here for details https://community.oracle.com/thread/1146276 or http://techdetails.agwego.com/2008/02/11/37/

but they don't even need to, because *browser fingerprinting* is quite advanced these days.

and even if you log with different usernames, the point if iesnare service is to match usernames, so your bookie might call iesnare API and tell them even your name, in which case, two different usernames wont help.

ive been blocking iesnare for years, never had a problem. and am not getting limited any faster than anyone i know.

so one mans FUD may be other mans valuable information.
Logged

Marlin
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2015, 05:08:01 PM »

Java applets are irrelevant these days. You can't run them on Chrome, and Firefox asks for your permission to run them.

Iesnare is a black box, none of us probably know how it really works.

I agree, bookies could also implement browser fingerprinting.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 03:58:51 PM by Marlin » Logged

yikkvu1l.wyx@20mail.it
Newbie
*

Karma: -2
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2015, 07:44:26 AM »

yes that is probably the best
Logged

RoosterDonky
Has some experience
**

Karma: -6
Posts: 184



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2015, 07:57:37 AM »

So they don't have a way to ID your computer if you're using multiple ids?
Sorry for the noob question, lol.
Logged

Fade Fairpunter's picks for sure profits!

Dentz
Newbie
*

Karma: 7
Posts: 39



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2015, 06:17:34 AM »

If you guys config your router to bridged mode then it is your computers mac that is visible and not routers. This is ideal if your isp is providing multiple ip's over bridged connection. Mine provides 5 separate connections with one line if in bridged mode. If you have more than one computer then you can dedicate each to different bookie and let the iesnare do their dirty work without concern. Key is to remember which comp. is for what bookie. Normal NATed connection has only one mac and ip, so I prefer bridge if possible.
Logged

Never lose your capital.

sonic
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2015, 08:06:57 PM »

How can you tell which is the MAC address visible to bookie? My PC and VMs show different physical MAC addresses but I think something else is shown to the bookies because I was caught and limited for no apparent reason...
Logged

Dentz
Newbie
*

Karma: 7
Posts: 39



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2015, 07:19:14 PM »

Problem with VM:s is they have unique mac-address range that can be identified by bookies. When bookie knows you are using VM they instantly know you aren't a regular punter. Best way is to use multiple real computers that each has their own connections(ip and mac). Costly, but effective.
Logged

Never lose your capital.

Alfons
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2015, 09:13:00 PM »

Is this the same with paralles?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
« previous next »